Yes, in order for us to process returned devices, it is important that you reset all cell phones, smartwatches, and laptops to factory settings and remove any personal data including linked accounts before sending them back. This includes Apple IDs, Google Accounts, PIN codes, user accounts for game consoles, and any parental controls. 

If we can not process your device after it is returned due to it being connected to a user account, we will have to charge additional payments to unlock and reset the device. 

Instructions to reset your Apple or Android device and disconnect it from the user account can be found from the manufacturer sites here:

iPhone & iPads

MacBook

Apple Watch

Android smartphones and tablets

Make sure to make a backup of your data before resetting your device. To help you with this process, we have created a blog article guiding you through the steps to back up and reset your iPhone or iPad, Apple Watch, MacBook, Samsung Galaxy Phones, Samsung Gear Watches, and Microsoft Surface Books.

If video is more your style, our friendly Customer Support Hero Lisa can walk you through the backup and reset process for iPhones, iPads, and MacBooks here (German, with English subtitles):

Did this answer your question?